Roman Catholic Diocese of Boise | Cathedral dedicated 1921


Q: What is Holy Orders?
A: Holy Orders is a Sacrament by which bishops, priests, and other ministers of the Church are ordained and receive the power and grace to perform their sacred duties. In this way, the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate (bishop), presbyterate (priest), and diaconate (deacon). The priesthood is necessary for the faithful to receive the sacraments of the Church instituted by Christ to bring us grace. It is a sacred duty for good men of virtue. If you have ever considered becoming a priest ask a trusted priest to be your spiritual director.

​For those who cannot become priests, it is our duty to fast and pray for holy clergy. Families should foster vocations by talking to your children about the importance of the sacraments for the salvation and sanctification of the world, and the special role of the priest in giving us an opportunity for the sacraments. 

Ordination to the priesthood is always a call and a gift from God. Christ reminded his Apostles that they needed to ask the Lord of the harvest to send laborers into the harvest.  Those who seek priesthood respond generously to God's call using the words of the prophet, "Here I am, send me" (Is 6:8).  This call from God can be recognized and understood from the daily signs that disclose his will to those in charge of discerning the vocation of the candidate.

More Information

Vocation Seekers

Diocese of Boise Office of Vocations

The Deacon and Lay Ministries Formation program for the Roman Catholic Diocese of Boise provides intellectual, spiritual, human and pastoral formation to those individuals who have been identified by their pastors and parish leadership as having the gifts and the call from God to serve the people of God in Idaho in public ministry.

Vocations to Holy Orders through the Permanent Diaconate